The Bible Study Hour

Complaints and Opposition 10/10/10

"Life's too hard, Moses. The food's boring, Moses. And by the way, Moses, where'd you find that foreign wife of yours?" Complaints, opposition, sibling rivalry, racist attacks—they're all in a day's work for Moses as the Israelites trek through the desert.

Numbers 12:3

Broadcast Archive

Living in the Last Days 01/25/15

We’ve all experienced the heavy grief of tragedy and the panic that comes along with a crisis – because in a sinful world, pain and anxiety are a regular part of the human experience. But Scripture tells us that in spite of these trials, we should “see to it that we are not alarmed.” In this broadcast of The Bible Study Hour, we’ll find out how to rest in God’s plan, even in the midst of apparent chaos.

Seven Woes on False Religion 01/18/15

Every group or club has its criteria for membership, but what is required in order to be part of the Kingdom of God? Is it a seminary degree or a certain number of memorized Scripture verses? Today on The Bible Study Hour with Dr. James Boice, we’ll discover that God is not impressed with our attempts at being super spiritual. In fact, the sincere Christian life is often far from glamorous.

A Question for His Questioners 01/11/15

Even agnostics would agree that Christianity simply cannot exist as one among many supposed truths. The claims of Christ are too definitive and the means of salvation are just too exclusive. In this broadcast of The Bible Study Hour with Dr. James Boice, we’ll learn why, in its very nature, Christianity demands a monopoly on truth and why it requires either full allegiance, or none at all.

Three Attempts to Trap Jesus 01/04/15

Everyone knows that the topics of faith and politics make for complicated and potentially controversial conversation. Scripture says that as Christians, we are to be in the world, but not “of” it. But how do we balance our allegiance to earthly authorities with obedience to our Heavenly Father? Tune in to find out how Jesus answered that question on this week’s broadcast of The Bible Study Hour.

The Parable of the Wedding Banquet 12/28/14

Jesus had a fascinating habit of sharing deep truths through simple stories. In a parable of a generous king and an extravagant wedding feast, we’ll learn about the flimsy excuses that kept the guests from attending what would have been the best event of their lives! And, of course, it all has Gospel significance.

Jesus! Jesus! 12/21/14

Parents-to-be pour over baby name books and search the Internet for that perfect name for their new little one. Decisions are made based on popularity, a desire to be unique or even purely on meaning. On this broadcast of The Bible Study Hour, Dr. Boice will reveal the name that has received the most attention throughout history. Tune in to find out what it is - and more importantly, what it means.

What Child is This? 12/14/14

“What child is this?” It’s the ultimate question and its answer determines our eternity. These four words are the title of a simple hymn, but they also lay the theological foundation for our faith! In this broadcast of The Bible Study Hour, we’ll learn how a tiny grammatical detail in the pages of Scripture points to the deity of Christ and helps us answer this all-important question.

The Parables of the Two Sons and the Wicked Tenants 12/07/14

The Bible is full of the figurative language of farming activity – everything from sowing seeds and separating chaff from grain, to reaping the resulting harvest. In Matthew chapter 21, we learn that God is also the ultimate fruit inspector. What is the fruit of a true Christian life and what provocative statement does Jesus make concerning the topic?

Religion Without Fruit 11/30/14

If hypocrisy is moral bankruptcy, then in God’s economy, true Christians should be rich in the currency of faith. On this broadcast of The Bible Study Hour with Dr. James Boice, we’ll learn that God is not impressed with insincere profession and we’ll discover what a fig tree has to teach us about spiritual health and the dangers of “having religion” without being willing to truly obey.

The Cleansing of the Temple 11/23/14

If it’s true that actions speak louder than words, then what happens when professing Christians turn out to be practical materialists? On this broadcast of The Bible Study Hour with Dr. James Boice, we’ll discover that God sees right through our hypocrisy. He’s not impressed when we speak of Heaven, but live for Earth. And He won’t tolerate the church replacing praise with production.

The Triumphal Entry 11/16/14

This broadcast of The Bible Study Hour begins with an event that stirred an entire city and ends as Dr. Boice frames the greatest debate of all time. In this message entitled, “The Triumphal Entry,” we’ll follow Jesus on the road into Jerusalem and we’ll find out what happens when he turns out to be nothing like the warrior king that the Jews expected.

On the Way to Jerusalem 11/09/14

The scene is the road to Jerusalem, the mood is solemn and the dialogue is nothing short of perplexing. Jesus is on his way to die and his disciples are busy wondering who will get the best seat in Heaven. In this broadcast of The Bible Study Hour, Dr. James Boice will continue through the current series in Matthew with a message that will challenge us to rethink our definition of “greatness.”

The Parable of the Workers in the Vineyard 11/02/14

We’re taught from an early age that more work and harder work usually equals more income and better opportunities. In a parable that makes an important point about the nature of salvation, Jesus turns this concept on it’s head with a scenario that most of us would consider “unfair.” Dr. Boice will unpack the mystery and meaning behind this story.

Little Children and a Young Man 10/26/14

We can sit around and wonder why some people are called to poverty and others are trusted with riches, but when it comes to living as a true disciple of Christ, we’re all called to do away with anything that keeps us from full obedience to God. On this broadcast of The Bible Study Hour with Dr. James Boice, we’ll be encouraged to store up eternal blessings rather than worldly possessions.

Jesus' Teaching on Divorce 10/19/14

The statistics are staggering. The divorce rate among Americans – even among professing Christians – is nearly 50 percent! How should we respond to this cultural crisis when God designed marriage to last a lifetime, yet 1 in every 2 marriages today ends in divorce? On this broadcast of The Bible Study Hour, Dr. Boice will share a Biblical perspective on this important topic of marriage.

The Parable of the Unmerciful Servant 10/12/14

If there is anyone who should be ready and willing to offer forgiveness, it is the Christian. In this broadcast of The Bible Study Hour with Dr. James Boice, we’ll hear a story of debt, mercy, greed and punishment. The parable may have enough drama to feel like a Hollywood movie, but the lesson Jesus teaches by sharing it is one that’s practical and applicable to our everyday lives.

The Parable of the Lost Sheep 10/05/14

If you grew up going to Sunday school class, you may remember singing a song that proclaimed, “God’s got the whole world in His hands.” Today on The Bible Study Hour, we’ll learn that those hands also hold each individual believer and that those who belong to God can never be snatched away. Listen in to learn how the parable of the lost sheep can give us a better understanding of salvation.

Who is the Greatest in the Kingdom 09/28/14

RC Ryle once said, “The surest mark of any conversion is humility.” On this broadcast of The Bible Study Hour, Dr. Boice will teach from an incident out of Matthew chapter 18, where we’ll get a glimpse into the selfish, prideful thoughts of the disciples and learn how, with a simple change of tone, Jesus completely turns the conversation around to expose the sin in their hearts.

No Power and Little Understanding 09/21/14

We know that if we don’t eat a balanced diet, we can become vitamin deficient. But we don’t often consider the possibility of becoming faith deficient. Today on The Bible Study Hour with Dr. James Boice, we’ll learn that’s exactly what happens when we don’t cultivate a personal relationship with Jesus. Listen in to find out what mountains and mustard seeds have to do with growing in faith.

With Jesus on the Mountains 09/14/14

We live in a culture that prioritizes productivity and achievement, but sometimes God calls us to simply be still and listen. On this broadcast of The Bible Study Hour, Dr. Boice will encourage us to take time out of our busy days - full of furious activity and information-overload - to simply meet with Jesus. We’ll learn from Peter’s example that sometimes the best thing to do, is to do nothing at all.

The Way of the Cross 09/07/14

What is a disciple? Dr. Boice will teach us the answer to this question on this broadcast of The Bible Study Hour. Listen in as we’ll discover that “discipleship” is more than a trending buzzword and more than a one-time event. It’s a journey of self-denial…and when it comes down to it, it’s not an idea that fits nicely with what Dr. Boice refers to as our “domesticated” view of Jesus.

Peter's Great Confession 08/31/14

Listening to people’s varying opinions about Jesus can feel like watching an old episode of Superman. Instead of hearing, “It’s a bird…it’s a plane…no! It’s Superman,” we often hear something like, “he was a prophet…a good man…no, a great teacher!” Today on The Bible Study Hour with Dr. James Boice, we’ll learn that the truth about the person of Jesus is at the very heart of Christianity.

Watch Out for the Pharisees 08/24/14

When the wind picks up and dark clouds roll in, we recognize those indicators as sure signs of a looming thunderstorm. On this broadcast of The Bible Study Hour with Dr. James Boice, we’ll learn that the truth of God’s revelation is even more obvious than physical changes in the weather. And yet, like the disciples, we often miss the signs that are right in front of our eyes.

The Faith and Feeding of Gentiles 08/17/14

Bishop J.C. Ryle once said, “It is grace, not place, that makes people believers.” The Jews were God’s chosen people, but the New Testament is clear that the Gospel is for Gentiles as well. Today on The Bible Study Hour with Dr. Boice, we’ll learn how the persistence of one woman and the hunger of a huge crowd foreshadowed the eventual spread of the Gospel to all people…in all places.

Kosher Hearts 08/10/14

Traditions can serve as powerful symbols and can even create memorable pastimes. But without the proper perspective and the right motivation, traditions can also lose their meaning entirely. In this broadcast of The Bible Study Hour with Dr. James Boice, we’ll discover that in Matthew chapter 15, Jesus had something to say about faith, traditions and the heart.

Faith and Little Faith 08/03/14

We may assume that the disciples followed Jesus because they knew he was the Messiah, but it was not until the 14th chapter of Matthew’s gospel that they finally acknowledged him as the Son of God and worshipped him. In this message, we’ll learn about Peter’s adventure and the bizarre circumstances that brought the disciples to a place of faith & confession.

The Feeding of the Five Thousand 07/27/14

Scripture is full of food and drink-related imagery. We’re told that Jesus is the Bread of Life and that he can offer us living water. And while these metaphors are meant to represent deeper, spiritual truths, Jesus is actually concerned with our physical needs as well. Dr. Boice teaches from a Biblical story all about food- and its lesson is both practical and symbolic.